Handsome Rewards

 

I love to shop. It’s genetic. My mom is a notorious shopper who can give you detailed information about every item of clothing she’s wearing including the original price, sale price, additional markdown, coupons used and purchase time and date. I’m nowhere near as good as she is, but I do get a giddy, euphoric rush from coming home with a new very favorite thing.

I’m also a compulsive list-maker. I have in my super-secret notebook a grocery list, a weekly and monthly to-do list, a list of books to read, a list of places to visit, a list of graduate programs to look into, etc. So it only makes sense that a compulsive list-making, emotional shopper on a mission to lose a significant amount of weight would have written down in her little super-secret book a list of things to purchase as I lose weight. And I do. I already have pants/shorts/skirts in a variety of sizes in my closets. I’m talking more about rewards.

For example, when I get to 199 pounds I’ll get myself a handbag I’ve had my eye on.   When I hit my goal weight (or within the ten pound radius), a sweet vacation to Costa Rica!

But there’s an item on my list giving me trouble. My birthday’s July 5. Just over six months into my weight loss journey and just over 3 months away. I’d like to get myself an awesome dress to wear on my birthday, and I think buying it in advance would be good motivation to keep working. The problem is, what size will I be? I originally thought I’d be down a full 50 pounds in 6 months. But I’m losing like a pound a week, so come my birthday, I could still be over 200. I don’t love the idea of that, but it’s definitely better than still being a deuce-and-a-quarter.

 I’m fixated right now on getting the birthday dress so I can use it for motivation. The shopping jones is giving me that itch. What to do? Maybe I’ll get a couple different dresses. 😉

6 comments

  1. Don’t buy the dress just yet. When you lose ten pounds, things will be in all sorts of different places. Wait until you’re closer to your birthday, say a month out. And bust a hump between now and then. Have you signed up for another race yet?

    1. Good advice. I’m just in the mood to shop, I guess.

      I haven’t signed up for another race yet. There are lots of races in town in the next couple of weeks, but winter weather’s back so I haven’t committed to one. I’m a fair-weather runner.

  2. I’m also a compulsive list-maker.

    I think you ought to share a list of your lists.

    1. A list of my lists?? This idea gives me life!

  3. I’m also a list-maker. I love keeping track of everything I want to do, everything I like, etc. I did something similar when trying to lose weight and made a list of clothing I wanted to buy. I’d never paid much attention to clothes, but when I lost weight I wanted to get skinny jeans, even though I always hated them.

    1. Yeah, a new body can totally make you love the stuff you thought you hated. In about 30 pounds, I’ll probably become a Kardashian.

Leave a Reply

