Week 14 Weigh-In

April 10, 2011

I’m FINALLY out of the 210’s. Man, I thought I’d never get here. I’ve been in the 210’s since January 16! Forget the ‘last ten pounds’ trouble…these first 15 pounds have been killer! But I’m here now.

I got some information this week that is, for now, keeping me patient. A study from Helsinki University Central Hospital showed that gaining more fat slows metabolism.  They studied sets of twins where one was thin and one was fat and they learned that fat cells in heavier twins underwent metabolic changes that make it more difficult to burn fat. But that change can be reversed. Maybe I screwed up my metabolism with the rapid weight gain (I gained 40 pounds in 2 or 3 years) and I just need to keep working to rev it back up.
Another study by the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm showed that some people just have more fat cells. “You’re better off with more fat cells than with fewer fat cells that become overstuffed and enlarged.” Maybe I’m in the Less group with overstuffed cells, so the loss of fat has less impact. I don’t know.
And a trainer friend of mine said even when following the same diet and exercise plan, some people lose weight quickly, while others experience slower results. Not earth-shattering news. I know people have different metabolisms and different amounts of fat cells, but it was good to have a pro tell me that. I’m a tortoise, not a hare. So I need to quit watching YouTube videos of people losing 50 pounds in 3 months. I’ll get there.
I wasn’t feeling super-awesome this week. I’ve been wavering between resignation and discouragement. I never expected to progress this slowly. But I am progressing. The tapemeasure proves that. And I also took some pictures that show I am shrinking. (Not ready to post them yet.)  I had set some arbitrary weight goals, mostly based on other people’s weight loss progress, that I’m totally blowing. Goals like wear a size 14 by Memorial Day or lose 50 pounds by my birthday. Now I need to throw those out. I’m a list-maker so it’s hard to let go of those ‘deadlines’. But holding on to them is setting myself up for failure. At least I’m making progress.

2 comments

  1. Congratz for sticking to it even though the stupid scale has been locked.

    Keep up the great work.

    The Grumpy Man

  2. Well done. Keep on going.

Leave a Reply

