Week 22 Weigh-In

June 5, 2011

I’m coming for you, 199! I did well this week. I ate within my points,  and I worked out 6 days (4 runs / 2 P90X workouts). Saturday I ran the New Balance Girls on the Run 5k. Thankfully the race wasn’t a week earlier; it was warm, but not oppressively hot at race time.

I’ve never run a race with this many kids before. Every elementary school in the area had teams of girls run. Goody, the hair products company, had people there to decorate hair with flowery accessories and hair paint to make it more fun for the girls. (I wish I’d taken a photo of the cute crowd, but I run with my phone in my sports bra, and I didn’t feel like going in after it.) The kids were mostly fun and also annoying.  “Come on, run faster Daddy!” Fun. “Are we done yet? How much longer?” Annoying.

But I overcame the whiney adversity, and I finished in 39:51. 436th place out of 1045 runners. Yup, I kicked those little girls’ butts.  But because I refuse to register in advance for a race, I didn’t get a t-shirt. That’s the risk you run to be a rebel.

2 comments

  1. A race with hair accessories cracks me up! Good job! That’s an excellent time!

    1. It was too cute. Even some dads were dolled up!

Leave a Reply

