Week 40 Weigh-In

October 9, 2011

I did it! I ran the 15k today!! 1:48:16. I feel so AWESOME! I mean, my knees hurt, my right hip is sore, and my feet ache. But I feel great. Like I accomplished something. In the past I would’ve wished I could run this race, I would’ve signed up for the race. Then I would’ve not prepared and skipped the race. So just showing up this morning was a fantastic start. Then I actually finished it!

My longest training run was 7.5 miles on familiar territory. These 9.3 miles seemed to stretch on forever. I thought we’d never get to mile 6. I was tired and walking already. But I kept moving. And when I got to the mile 9 marker, runner #333 — a total stranger whom I’d chatted with briefly in the parking lot before the start — was waiting for me to help me finish the last 0.3. That was so very nice of him! I think he could tell I was apprehensive before the start, and wanted to give me a little encouragement. He finished almost a whole hour before me, and he really didn’t have to stick around. I really appreciated that. And he helped me squeeze in under my 1:50 goal!

10 comments

  1. Yea!!! SO happy for you!!! Great job!! That is WAY faster than my first (only only) 15 K.

    You are a GODDESS. Enjoy the achievement 🙂

    1. Thanks! I’m basking!

      Good luck to YOU on your marathon this week! YOU CAN DO IT!!

  2. Good job on the race! What’s next?

    (don’t you LOVE when people ask you that? ;0 )

    1. Thanks! The race I wanted to do next month (Run the Bridge in Camden) reached capacity before I could register, so I’ll probably do a Turkey Trot 10k. No plans to do any longer distances any time soon. Too sore today! Do you have any races coming up?

  3. […] Motion and Rest- Love to read about another runner’s progress- especially when that runner is a fabulous woman with a sense of humor! […]

  4. Awesome! Keep up the good work and keep running! I admire runners.

  5. Ok I really need to start running!! muah!

    1. Well, you’ve got those awesome shoes!

      I’m glad to be back at it. I didn’t realize how much I missed running the last few years.

  6. […] Motion and Rest- Love to read about another runner’s progress- especially when that runner is a fabulous woman with a sense of humor! […]

Leave a Reply

