On a Mission [+ Weigh In]

May running goal   My May goal was to run 31 miles in 31 days. Mission Accomplished!

On to the next one. I’ve set a goal to have an official mission statement before my BDay. I have a job that I don’t hate, but I feel like I’m not living up to my potential. I want to do something different, but I have yet to figure out what that something is. Also, I want to have a family of my own. For at least the last five years I’ve been telling myself I should look into adopting. (I mean, I’ve kept my dog, Star, alive for a 4 years, so I’m totally qualified.) But I’ve taken zero steps toward either of these things.

Google to the rescue! I’ve starting working on my very own mission statement with this Franklin Covey’s Mission Statement Builder. (Ahhh, the wonders of the internets.)

I originally thought a mission statement would help me focus my career and family plans. The builder asks questions to help focus your focus. It turns out, when I get down to it, what’s most important to me isn’t what I thought:

My most important future contribution to others will be showing them how to persevere. I am proof that hard work pays off.

Huuuhh. So I can become an awsomer person without a major overhaul of my life. I don’t need some title (mother/astronaut/marathon world record holder) to live a meaningful, fulfilling life? My mission statement showed me that I don’t need to “become” something else in the future to be more fulfilled; I just have to “Be” now.  Very Zen.

This is not to say that I’m giving up on a new career and future motherhood. But developing a persistent effort and a stronger work ethic toward those goals is more important than the actual achievement of those goals.

I’m still tinkering with my mission statement. Should it be more of a soliloquy? Or maybe a numbered list? A poem? Lots of decisions. But I like the start the statement builder gave me. I honestly don’t think I’ll share the final draft. IDK. I’ll post pics of my rump at 225 lbs for the world to see, but private things should stay private. That being said, now see my weight posted below.

5_31_13

Leave a Reply

